Posted in Other

University Student Foreign Exchange – Canada – Entry #1

So that’s me been in Canada for a whole day now. AND IT’S SNOWING!!!!!

Jan 6th.

Chris picked me up at the airport, which was really nice to have a familiar face there. He helped with my bags and helped me move into my house. I apparently have the biggest bedroom which is a nice touch. The rooms are basic and plain, but since I’ve started decorating its feeling more comfortable. It’s still a tad bare so I’ve ordered a poster and some other things to decorate. I stay with 4 other girls who all seem really nice and friendly. They were very welcoming.  Chris also showed me around campus and taken me shopping. I’m so thankful I have family here to help me move in and get settled. Later on in the evening my flat mates invited me to the gym, which I was excited about. Even more exciting. FREE GYM MEMBERSHIP! I went to bed pretty early, or at least I tried to, I didn’t sleep very well, probably just due to jet lag. But I had to be up early for skating!!!

Jan 7th.

Very luckily the skating girls have a car pool system to drive us all to the rink. So I got picked up at 5:45 this morning! Suppose I better get used to training early mornings!!

All the girls were very friendly; – this seems to be the trend here. The ice rink is freezing, like really cold. But I got a quick practice of my jumps before watching the rest of the team practice for their syncro competition. Then whilst they were practicing, practised some spins to keep warm. But I’m so excited that the skating is working out and I can’t wait for tomorrow!!!

So now that I’m pretty much moved in I’ve taken some wee videos of my house and edited them together, ironically to Calvin Harris’ Summer. I’ll take some better videos once my room is properly finished.

Leave a comment